Book Review: Celia Birtwell

 

When the Celia Birtwell book was handed to me by the postman, courtesy of Quadrille Craft, I was more than a little excited (I may have squealed at him – he thinks I’m crazy). Being the first book (long overdue) published on Celia,  I was curious to know more about the life and work of such an iconic British designer.

 

 

The book is hardback coffee table perfection, accompanied by sketches, artworks and personal photographs. But not only is the book a visual treat, it delivers such an inspirational kick, I wish I’d had the book years ago.

The book concentrates on the designers career span of over 50 years, from couture to home interiors and her collaboration with Topshop.  Rather than focusing on her personal life (relationship/partnership with Ossie Clark)  it is a biography that celebrates Celia’s work, ambition and inspirations.

The book makes a great gift for admirers of Celia’s work, design/fashion students or anyone with an interest in British Culture (holds hand up). The book has also persuaded me to buy this edition of  my favourite novel,Wuthering Heights, that she illustrated back in 2009. I must find a copy!

You can purchase the book from Amazon for £15.19.

Please note, I was sent this copy to review and was not paid for writing this post.

About Lisa

Blogger, freelance writer and marketing officer for an independent cinema.

4 responses to “Book Review: Celia Birtwell

  1. misspond

    I love Celia! I did a whole project on her for my textiles A Level 🙂 Will be checking the book out on my shopping trip this weekend!

  2. It’s such an inspirational book, isn’t it? Made me want to get out my felt tips. I’ve actually just finished writing a review on it for Domestic Sluttery – it’ll go up tomorrow. I think you can work out that I like it!

  3. Oh lucky you, what a gorgeous looking book! I love her work and have always been intrigued about her relationship with Ossie Claek (I love the Hockney painting of them with their cat – ‘Mr and Mrs Clark with percy’ – they look so hip in that typical seventies way!!).

Leave a comment

Archives